2019 Thesis Awards

The IEEE AP/ED/MTT North Italy Chapter expresses its congratulations to the recipients of the “2019 IEEE AP/ED/MTT North Italy Chapter Thesis Awards” as listed below

  • Matteo FARRONATO, Politecnico di Milano.  “Best Master Thesis Electron Devices Society” for the thesis “Development of Innovative Synaptic Devices for the Online Training of Neural Networks”
  • Michele BECCARIA, Politecnico di Torino. “Best PhD Thesis Antennas and Propagation Society” for the thesis “Design of Innovative Reflectarray and Transmitarray Antennas”
  • Giorgio GOTTARDI. Università di Trento. “Best PhD Thesis Antennas and Propagation/Microwave Theory and Techniques Societies” for the thesis “Novel Design Concepts for Unconventional Antenna Array Architectures in Next Generation Communications Systems”
  • Enrico MASSONI, Università di Pavia. “Best PhD Thesis Microwave Theory and Techniques Society” for the thesis “Novel Materials and Innovative Fabrication Techniques for the Substrate Integrated Waveguide (SIW) Technology”

The Best Thesis Awards are intended to support students involved in the areas of interest of the Antennas and Propagation, Electron Devices, and Microwave Theory and Techniques Societies, and their selection is based on the relevance of the thesis within the associated fields of interest, and on its creativity, innovative content, and quality. To be eligible for the 2019 Edition of the award, each applicant had to be (i) a Master’s or PhD student having discussed his/her thesis on one of the topic of interest of the Antennas and Propagation, Electron Devices, and Microwave Theory and Techniques Societies at an accredited institution of higher learning in Italy between 01/11/2019 and 31/10/2020, (ii) if competing for a doctoral award, to be a student member/member of the IEEE AP-S or IEEE ED-S or IEEE MTT-S at the time of application, and (iii) to have the endorsement of his advisor, who must be a university/college faculty member who is also a member of the IEEE AP/ED/MTT North Italy Chapter.

The Selection Process has been carried out by the Award Evaluation Committee, composed by Prof. Vincenzo GALDI (Università del Sannio), Prof. Marco Donald MIGLIORE (Università di Cassino e del Lazio Meridionale), and Prof. Luciano TARRICONE (Università del Salento), members of the IEEE MTT-S/AP-S Central-Southern Italy. The evaluation official report can be downloaded at 2019 Thesis Award Official Report. The list of the current and previous Award Recipients is available at the following page.

The Award Ceremony date and schedule will be announced soon.